Falling

I love fall.  Mainly because of football, despite the fact that the Cowboys can’t seem to snap the damn ball without having a false start and the Longhorns have similarly broken my heart.  Although I love the sunshine and 100+ degree days, there comes a time when I absolutely relish that crisp fireplace aroma that seems to pervade the entire neighborhood.  It’s lovely on Sundays to spend all day watching football with the dog, especially since I’m taking a grad school class on Saturdays because apparently I am a moron.

What I also like about fall is the lovely seasonal veggies that yield delicious recipes.  I love cooking.  I don’t do it enough, mainly because my kitchen is absurdly small and I live alone, so often my treats go unappreciated by anyone but me and Ollie.  However, when stressed, and too lazy to go for a run, cooking is the next best thing.

This is the best recipe for pumpkin muffins I’ve found.  Two notes before sharing: a) they are way more delicious when you use a huge-sized muffin tin, as there is much more of that soft, delectable center.  I love making these for coworkers, but I mainly end up eating most of them myself.  B) As the recipe calls for eggs, I always make sure I have local, humane-raised eggs- preferably from someone’s backyard.

I was super excited to bake this this evening, but apparently September brings out the pumpkinphiles, as Central Market’s pumpkin supply was completely exhausted.  Alas, another time.

Enjoy.

Image

Not the best picture. But they are the best muffins.

Preheat oven to 350F degrees.

Ingredients
3 1/3 c. flour
2 tsp. baking soda
3 c. sugar
1 1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. nutmeg

Mix dry ingredients and add:
1 c. oil
4 eggs
2/3 c. water
2 c. pumpkin

Prepare muffin tins by greasing with vegetable oil or butter (I use Pam).

Fill muffin tins three-quarters full and bake at 350 degrees for 20-30 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

Leave a Reply

