What’s Beethoven’s Favorite Fruit? Ba-na-na-naaaaaaa

I heard that gem of a joke when I was a sophomore in high school and found it a riot.  I went around all day screaming it at people until I realized that I was saying “Shakespeare” instead of “Beethoven” and therefore the joke made absolutely no sense.  I expect my comedy career to take off at any moment with this hilarious comedic sensibility.

As I said in my previous post, today was a day for rest, yoga, and cooking.  I decided to use up my mushy bananers to try my hand at banana bread.

I don’t like using eggs, but I haven’t found an egg substitute that maintains good texture and taste, so I usually just use homegrown eggs in recipes that call for them (last year I had a student bring me eggs from his backyard).  I found the egg substitute in this recipe to be perfect.  I had never heard of using flaxseeds before, but I understood the rationale when I was trying to clean them out of my food processor- they expand and get sticky, and when coupled with a few tablespoons of water they make the perfect egg replacement.  The batter for this bread was so good that Ollie and I both took advantage- he of the bowl, me of the spoon.  The bread came out soft, moist, and supremely tasty- the perfect complement to my risotto.

(Vegan) butter and sugar make everything better

Ingredients

1 cup of sugar
1/2 cup of butter substitute (Earth Balance)
egg substitute for 2 eggs (2 tablespoons of flaxseeds and 6 tablespoons
of water)
2 bananas
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 1/2 cups of flour
1/4 teaspoon of salt
1 teaspoon of vanilla

Cooking

Put all of the above ingredients into a bowl and beat together with a mixer until smooth. Pour into a greased loaf pan and bake for roughly 45 minutes at 325 degrees or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Perfect golden brown

That’s it. Ridiculously simple and Ollie-approved.  Go forth and bake, my little lovelies.  Fall is here.

One thought on “What’s Beethoven’s Favorite Fruit? Ba-na-na-naaaaaaa

Leave a Reply

